Marty Bahamonde, FEMA Special Projects Officer, trains External Affairs staff at the Nashville Joint Field Office.

Nashville, Tenn., May 26, 2010 -- Marty Bahamonde, FEMA Special Projects Officer, trains External Affairs staff at the Nashville Joint Field Office. FEMA is responding to severe storms and flooding that damaged or destroyed thousands of homes across Tennessee in May 2010. David Fine/FEMA Photo by David Fine - May 25, 2010 - Location: Nashville, TN

Adjuster Courses

Annual NFIP Claims Presentation

To adjust flood losses for NFIP insurers, independent adjusters must register with the NFIP Bureau and Statistical Agent (BSA) and possess an active Flood Control Number (FCN). Adjusters must meet certain qualifications and attend an annual NFIP Claims Presentation to become an authorized adjuster or to maintain active status. New applicants must submit a completed Adjuster Registration Application to the NFIP BSA. Please visit the NFIP BSA website for detailed information.

Sign up for NFIP Training Bulletins to be notified when new or updated flood insurance courses are available.

2020 NFIP Claims Presentation Schedule

Please register for one presentation only.

Date City Registration
Thu Jan 23 Hyattsville, MD Register
Tue Jan 28 San Marcos, TX Register
Tue Feb 4 Slidell, LA Register
Tue Feb 11 Lakeland, FL Register
Thu Feb 13 Southaven, MS Register
Tue Feb 18 Waco, TX Register
Thu Feb 20 Columbia, SC Register
Tue Feb 25 Oklahoma City, OK Register
Tue Mar 3 Little Rock, AR Register
Thu Mar 5 Sacramento, CA Register
Tue Mar 10 Mesa, AZ Register
Thu Mar 12 Sunrise, FL Register
Tue Mar 17 West Des Moines, IA Register
Thu Mar 19 Knoxville, TN Register
Tue Mar 24 Houston, TX Register
Tue Mar 31 Iselin, NJ Register
Thu Apr 2 Greenwood Village, CO Register
Tue Apr 7 Atlanta, GA Register
Thu Apr 9 Lisle, IL Register
Tue Apr 14 Arlington, TX Register
Thu Apr 16 Westlake, OH Register
Mon Apr 20 Lexington, KY Register
Wed Apr 22 Alexandria, LA Register
Mon Apr 27 Charlotte, NC Register
Thu Apr 30 Overland Park, KS Register
Thu May 7 Seattle, WA Register
Tue May 12 Needham, MA Register
Thu May 14 Jacksonville, FL Register
Tue May 19 Carolina, Puerto Rico Register
Wed May 27 Mobile, AL Register

Claims Review for Adjusters (IS-1104). New and experienced adjusters seeking the necessary knowledge and skill to adjust claims for the NFIP will find Claims Review for Adjusters, formerly a 7-hour classroom presentation, essential for adjusting NFIP claims. This course defines the role, standards and necessary requirements to adjust claims within the NFIP. In addition, it offers an overview of the Standard Flood Insurance Policy through a step by step outline of the similarities and contrasts found in the Dwelling Form, General Property Form, and the Residential Condominium Building Association Policy. With a focus on providing excellent customer service, this course also identifies common errors and adjustment issues where special attention is needed to ensure a high level of quality in the claims settlement process.

Adjuster Customer Service (IS-1107). Adjusters are among the first responders to interact with policyholders after a flood and therefore play a critical role in representing the NFIP. Due to the traumatic nature of a flooding event, adjusters must create and maintain a customer-centric focus during each interaction with the policyholder. Adjuster Customer Service provides guidance on using empathy, sincerity, friendliness, and other skills to communicate effectively with policyholders. The course reviews the attributes of excellent customer service and aids the adjuster in building positive rapport with each policyholder.

Introduction to Flood Claims (IS-1112). NFIP flood losses and loss settlements are particularly specialized. A flood adjuster must be qualified and must complete the process of becoming a NFIP certified adjuster to adjust NFIP claims. NFIP Adjusters achieve levels of authority based on flood adjusting experience and knowledge of the Program. Introduction to Flood Claims provides an overview of adjusting NFIP claims and reviews the Program’s Standard Flood Insurance Policy.

Understanding Basement Coverage (IS-1109). Due to coverage limitations, adjusting claims in buildings with basements can be challenging. Understanding Basement Coverage reviews key characteristics of basement buildings and discusses covered and non-covered building and personal property items located in basement buildings. The course concludes with a review of special adjustment issues.

Introduction to Commercial Claims (IS-1111). Introduction to Commercial Claims reviews the General Property Form as it relates to both small and large commercial claims, and provides a review of certification requirements, adjuster authority, documentation requirements, and adjustment standards and requirements. Knowledge in each of these areas is fundamental to meeting Program requirements for flood adjusters. The course presents two case studies that reflect real world flood adjusting experiences, and challenge the learner to apply flood adjusting concepts involving policy limits, estimating the reserve, and applying coverage restrictions.

Updates and Contact Information

To sign up for GovDelivery updates from NFIP Training.
If you have questions regarding NFIP Training, please write to: nfiptraininginfo@h2opartnersusa.com.